Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lyme Hall

Today marks a very special day for Jane Austen fans. On this day in 1813 the novel that brought us Mr Darcy, Elizabeth Bennet, Lady Catherine de Bourgh, and many more memorable characters, was published for the first time. It has arguably become the most successful and most well-loved of all Jane Austen’s novels, inspiring many television and film adaptations, and hundreds of spin-off stories and sequels.

It is my all time favourite story, and one I just can’t put down no matter how many times I have read it! To celebrate this special day, I have compiled a list of top 5’s all with a Pride and Prejudice theme. I hope you’ll share yours with me too.

Top 5 quotes:

  1.  “In vain I have struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” – spoken by Mr Darcy so no explanation necessary!
  2. “but that was only when I first knew her, for it is many months now since I have considered her as one of the handsomest women of my acquaintance.” – a long overdue put down to Miss Bingley
  3. “Are the shades of Pemberley to be thus polluted?” – Lady Catherine at her best.
  4. “it is by no means certain that another offer of marriage may ever be made to you.” – Mr Collins proving he is not a psychic.
  5. “Oh! no – it is not for me to be driven away by Mr Darcy. If he wishes to avoid seeing me, he must go.” Mr Wickham pretending to stand up to Mr Darcy.

Top 5 scenes:

  1. Mr Darcy’s first proposal. It was as surprising as it was ill-timed but for me, is one of the most emotive scenes in literature.
  2. Mr Darcy and Elizabeth’s unexpected meeting at Pemberley. You can feel the tension!
  3. Mr Wickham’s discussion with Elizabeth regarding Mr Darcy. It sets up the rest of the story.
  4. Lady Catherine’s final scene with Elizabeth. It gives Mr Darcy hope!
  5. Mr Darcy’s second proposal proving that love really can conquer all!

Top 5 characters. A very closely fought contest but they are:

  1. Mr Darcy. I don’t think I need to explain that one!
  2. Elizabeth Bennet for her wit and decisiveness even when her opinion proves to be wrong
  3. Lady Catherine for knowing what she wants, but not always getting her own way.
  4. Jane Bennet for seeing the best in everyone
  5. Mr Collins because we all need a laugh now and again

Top 5 places to visit:

  1. Lyme Hall near Stockport, used as the setting for Pemberley in the 1995 BBC  adaptation.
  2. Chatsworth House, used as the setting for Pemberley in the 2005 film starring Keira Knightley.
  3. Sudbury Hall. The interior shots of Pemberley were filmed here for the 1995 version.
  4. The Ramshaw Rocks. See my post on these here
  5. Belton House, used as the setting for Rosings Park in the 1995 version.

Top 5 Pride and Prejudice-related books:

  1. The Journey by Jan Hahn
  2. A Noteworthy Courtship by Laura Sanchez
  3. An Arranged Marriage by Jan Hahn
  4. Mr Darcy’s Letter by Abigail Reynolds
  5. Promises by Wendi Sotis

A huge thank you to Jane Austen for giving us this wonderful book and hours of reading pleasure!

I hope you all enjoy celebrating this special day too!

200th anniversary celebration