Tags

, , , , , ,

High five if you just shouted ‘Mr Darcy’ at the screen. He’s still got it as far as I’m concerned too. But can one character really explain this book’s enduring popularity? I would have to say no. There’s so much to enjoy about this book that it would be a trifle unfair to give all the credit to just one character, even if he does set our hearts pounding!

Here are just some of the reasons to inspire you (without too many spoilers if you haven’t read it yet!):

  1. To see what all the fuss is about!
  2. Great storytelling. Unexpected twists and turns, romance, deceit, rumours, lies, humour and more await you. You’ll either laugh, gasp, shout or very possibly shed a tear with every turn of the page.
  3. Memorable, and mostly loveable, characters, including Mr Darcy, and also; the fearsome Lady Catherine de Bourgh, the ever pleasant Mr Bingley, the spirited heroine, Elizabeth Bennet, the sarcastic Mr Bennet and silver-tongued Mr Wickham. In fact, I could mention all the characters. Where would the story be without them?!
  4. A good excuse to spend a few hours by yourself. There’s nothing quite like a bit of escapism!
  5. Learn a thing or two about Regency life. From balls to paying calls, Pride and Prejudice is a fascinating insight into how life used to be.
  6. Following on from point 5, brush up on your history. It’s not just about the story!
  7. Imagine that you’re Elizabeth Bennet and Mr Darcy is talking to you! Or is that just me?
  8. Lines like this (just a few teasers or I might end up writing out the whole book!):
  • “She is tolerable; but not handsome enough to tempt me” Who can forget that one?
  • “Bingley was sure of being liked wherever he appeared, Darcy was continually giving offence.”
  • “Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr. Collins, and I will never see you again if you do.”
  • “I had not known you a month before I felt that you were the last man in the world whom I could ever be prevailed upon to marry.” Ouch.
  • “Are the shades of Pemberley to be thus polluted?”
  • “Did you admire me for my impertinence?” Wouldn’t it be nice to be told that!

I hope that tickles your tastebuds!

Have I missed any out? Let me know and I’ll add them here or do a part 2!